Skip to the content

Grimes County Sheriff's Office Divisions

This page contains links to the various divisions of the Grimes County Sheriff's Office. To visit these pages click the corresponding link below.

Administrative Division

 The Administrative Division focuses on records/case management, budget planning/inventory control, technology planning and the day-to-day operation of the department. 

Communications Division

The Communications Center has a staff of 6 dispatchers.  The Communications Center is overseen by Lt. Jennifer Matejicek.  Every dispatcher is required to be certified through TLETS/NLETS and TCIC/NCIC.

Criminal Investigation Division

The Criminal Investigation Division is comprised of 5 sworn Investigators.  The unit is under the supervision of Captain Blake Jarvis, who also actively works cases.  Every Investigator receives specialized training in investigative practices and must be capable of working every type of case.  Investigators are generally assigned and work the more complex and lengthy criminal investigations.

Jail Division

The Jail Division has a staff of 22 jailers and 1 nurse.  The jail is managed by Jail Administrator Lt. Jennifer Matejicek.  There are also two Sergeants, who provide additional supervision for the jail staff.  Every jail officer must meet the requirements for licensing as a jailer through the TCLEOSE.

Patrol Division

The Patrol Division is comprised of 17 sworn Peace Officers and a K-9.  The Patrol Division is overseen by Captain Blake Jarvis and under the command of Lt. Ryan Rutledge.  There is also a Sergeant, who provides additional supervision.  Every Deputy Sheriff must meet the requirements for licensing as a Peace Officer through TCLEOSE.